Sentinel Event Reviews for Civil Rights Litigators: What They Are and How to Use Them

 Registration is closed for this event

EVENT SUMMARY

John Hollway of the Quattrone Center for Fair Administration and Justice will discuss the Center's work to end systemic police misconduct through in-depth reviews of past events where the police response ended in community harm and civil rights violations. Mr. Hollway will also discuss how event reviews can assist our work as civil rights litigators including framing future litigation and negotiating policy and practice changes in settlement. 

 


DATE AND TIME

The event will be on Tuesday, January 16, 2024 at the following time by time zone:

  • 1pm - 2:30pm PST

  • 2pm - 3:30pm MST

  • 3pm - 4:30pm CST

  • 4pm - 5:30pm EST

Please note: any time listed on this registration that does not indicate timezone can be assumed to be referring to Central Standard Time (CST).

 


ABOUT THE SPEAKER

John F. HallowayExecutive Director & Lecturer in Law, Quattrone Center

John F. Hollway C’92, MAPP ’18 is Associate Dean and Executive Director of the Quattrone Center for the Fair Administration of Justice at the University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School.  

His research helps organizations confront challenges and turn negative occurrences into opportunities for quality improvement. He is a national thought leader on the use of root cause analysis in criminal justice and is a frequent consultant to criminal justice agencies and corporations on quality improvement and measurement issues.

Hollway is the author of numerous publications, including “Conviction Review Units: A National Perspective” (2016), “A Systems Approach to Preventing Errors in Criminal Justice” (2014), and Killing Time: An 18-Year Odyssey from Death Row to Freedom, winner of the National Independent Book Award for non-fiction in 2011 and one of the Chicago Sun-Times’ Best Books of the Year.

Hollway holds a BA from Penn in Diplomatic History with a minor in East Asian Studies, a JD with honors from the George Washington University Law School, and a MAPP degree with Distinction from Penn.

 


ACCREDITATION

This event is currently pending accreditation. We will be applying for 1.5 general CLE credits with the State Bar of California. Most states will accept credits for programs approved by other state bars. For attendees whose states require additional documentation or support from out of state CLE sponsors, we will be happy to assist. Please feel free to contact Jane Clayton at operations.npap@nlg.org if you have any questions.

 


EVENT RECORDING

This event will be recorded and available for viewing to individuals who register.

 


 

When
January 16th, 2024 from  3:00 PM to  4:30 PM
Event Fee(s)
Event Fee(s)
Non-member attorney $30.00
NPAP/NLG member attorney $15.00
Nonprofit attorney $9.00
New attorney (less than 4 years experience) $9.00
Legal worker (not seeking CLE credit) $0.00
Law student (not seeking CLE credit) $0.00
Donation